The New Home for the Sheet Metal Industry Forums
SheetMetalTalk
 


Go Back   Sheetmetal Talk > Sheet Metal Forums > Sheet Metal Software

Sheet Metal Software Software discussion for the sheet metal industry.


Share This Forum!  
 
 
     

 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2009, 06:28 PM
gator412 gator412 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PractiCad...any one running it besides me

I just got Practicad and am in the process of setting it up. I was wondering if there is anyone else in the forum running it. So we could trade tips and stuff. It will be a bit of a curve for me as I am no autocad guy but I am looking forward to using the program. It seems to have so many options that it can create what you want with "automatics".
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2009, 08:53 AM
CadMan CadMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Gator,
I have tried this program and we acctually had a demo in our office with Matt. I like this program for the most part. And I think it was created by the same Russian guy that originally designed the Eastcoast program before it was distributed by Quickpen back in the day and yadda, yadda, yadda. I really like it because it is a true Autocad 3rd party software program. And I love the idea that you can create all of the lisp programs to make things "automatic". I would like to see what more people think about the program.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2009, 06:59 AM
big_willie big_willie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default PractiCad...any one running it besides me

Quote:
Originally Posted by gator412
I just got Practicad and am in the process of setting it up. I was wondering if there is anyone else in the forum running it. So we could trade tips and stuff. It will be a bit of a curve for me as I am no autocad guy but I am looking forward to using the program. It seems to have so many options that it can create what you want with "automatics".

Just wondering now that you have been using this for 4 mo how do you like it? I believe I saw some other post saying you where using ECC...... We are looking at making them same switch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2009, 07:46 PM
ccrayjr ccrayjr is offline
Professional Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 25 Posts
Default

If you are looking for great cad try...
http://www.technicalsalesinternation...2008/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2010, 09:10 AM
CadMan CadMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default PractiCad...any one running it besides me

Quote:
Originally Posted by big_willie
Quote:
Originally Posted by gator412
I just got Practicad and am in the process of setting it up. I was wondering if there is anyone else in the forum running it. So we could trade tips and stuff. It will be a bit of a curve for me as I am no autocad guy but I am looking forward to using the program. It seems to have so many options that it can create what you want with "automatics".

Just wondering now that you have been using this for 4 mo how do you like it? I believe I saw some other post saying you where using ECC...... We are looking at making them same switch.
Gator, same question. How is the Practi-cad working?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2010, 02:31 PM
gmacw gmacw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Boston
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PractiCAD & PractiCAM

I have both PractiCAD & PractiCAM. They are very customizable & so far hav ebeen impressed over the PM2000 & CADDuct version I've used in the past. There are few things that are a bit different with these programs though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2010, 06:59 AM
tanner01 tanner01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Practi-cad Practi-cam Meta-lab

We have been using it for a few years, one of the best programs out there in my opinion. There is nothing better than being able to draw in 3-d exactly the way you are going to make a fitting. Once your shop standards are set it is fool proof.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:33 AM
jcmechanical jcmechanical is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: truro ns can.
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

We have been using PM2000 on our mechines...works great haven,t used anything else for the last 12 years...so I guess I don't know what i'm missing....but I have had excellent assistance when need, and for what we do here its great....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-15-2010, 07:23 AM
CadMan CadMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default PractiCAD Update

Just to let you all know we've now been running PractiCAD and PractiCAM full time. It seems to be working out great. We actually had a guy come out of the shop and within the 1st week he was drawing on his own with not prior experience. It has it's quirks sometimes but for the most part I like it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.