The New Home for the Sheet Metal Industry Forums
SheetMetalTalk
 


Go Back   Sheetmetal Talk > Sheet Metal Forums > Sheet Metal Machinery Talk

Sheet Metal Machinery Talk
Discussion on Metal Fabrication Machinery including Q&A on maintenance and repairs. Plasma, Lock Formers, Brakes, ect.


Share This Forum!  
 
 
     

 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2009, 12:02 AM
aeviaanah aeviaanah is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default RASTER JPEG TO VECTOR TO CNC METAL ART

Hello i am trying to burn out metal with our new cnc plasma table. I have converted a raster stencil like image to a vector using inkscape. i then try to open the .dxf in nesting software. computer says cannot read splines. i am familiar with what splines are, how do i get my cnc to do what i want it to do? thanks much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2009, 09:47 AM
fabrk8r fabrk8r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I'm not familiar with inkscape, but the program I use to convert images to vector files is MagicTracer 2.0 and it has an option to save curves as Lines, B-Spline Curves or Bezier Curves when converting the vector file to a .dxf file.

The only success I've had with our plasma table software (Vulcan) being able to correctly interpret the .dxf file is if I select Save curves as: Bezier Curves and Save Lines as: Polylines

Hope this helps. Let me know if I can be of further assistance
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2009, 12:13 PM
aps0529 aps0529 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oneonta, AL
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What CAM software are you using to import DXF's?

What CAM proram are you using? If you dont know what program you have, what is the machine OEM. That may tell us what software you have if it came with the machine new. I have not used inkscape but I have seen where they had some problems and bugs with SPLine in DXF export. What ver do you have? If you dont have the latest ver they may have a fix.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2009, 06:12 PM
aeviaanah aeviaanah is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

cam program is promotion, i think oem is robotronics. thanks for the responses. i will try magictracer 2.0 see how this works for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.