The New Home for the Sheet Metal Industry Forums
SheetMetalTalk

Go Back   Sheetmetal Talk > Sheet Metal Forums > Finishing Metal

Finishing Metal Open discussion on finishing sheet metal products. Feel free to share knowledge of a metal finishing products and or your own proven formulas.

Share This Forum!  

Old 07-26-2008, 07:21 PM

Default Welding/fininshing SS for commercial kitchens

Hey there,

I am a new member of the sheet metal shop!

I saw your response to the topic of grinding and sanding stainless without warping. I have a few questions about this topic. To give you a little background in what I know and have done; I am a welder who doesn't usually do much sheet metal. I find it very frustrating due to how it warps so easily. I have tried 5 different butt welds on some tables/counter tops in commercial kitchens and a 2 dishwashers troughs in SS work station tables.

I have issues with warping when welding and grinding.

-I am using a Miller Dynasty 300 DX with scratch start (not my equipment and I hate TIG welding without a foot pedal). In the past I have used vise grips with 1/4 long aluminum channel on each side of the seam.

-I tack the seam with no gaps and making sure the two surfaces are even.

-I then slowly weld it every inch or so and have to cool it down with water from the back side in order to pull it opposite of the welded side.

-After it is welded then I get to the part I absolutely dread is grinding and polishing it. I can do fine except the occasional underfilled spots or where it buckled and I have to take a center punch and hammer backed up with a flat piece of steel a hundred times.

-I am using a large 9 inch grinder with some various grit flexable disks to get it flush. Then I go over it with one of those multiple layered sanding wheels to get the grain. It does a decent job, which is exceptable by the guy who hires me to do the work.