The New Home for the Sheet Metal Industry Forums
SheetMetalTalk

Go Back   Sheetmetal Talk > Sheet Metal Forums > Sheet Metal Products

Sheet Metal Products
Discuss sheet metal products here. What products makes your job easier. No advertising on forums, it will be deleted.

Share This Forum!  

Old 05-09-2009, 11:24 PM

Default Looking for that perfect tool belt

Hi guys - Shane here from Southern California. I'm looking for some opinions on the best tool belts one can buy. I'm willing to buy online if I have to, because the selection at most of the weekend warrior stores are pathetic.

I work in the field, and you know what that means - climbing scaffolding and crawling through cramped spaces, lugging sticks of metal up stairs and across muddy sites. I'm looking for bags that hang tough and can take a beating - naturally that means good leather and a comfortable pair of suspenders to carry them.

I know every man's set up is unique, and I'm no different - my Malco big snip rides in back with my magnetic hammer, reds and greens on my right with my tongs, scribe, nail tool and chisel and other assorted cheats. On my left I carry my ammo, measuring tape, square and blades. I've recently grown comfortable wearing a surveyor's safety vest with a bunch of pockets that let me carry my phone up high and my notebook, pens, etc in my breast pockets. It's got me looking at those new 'tool vests' I see on some sites, but I can't see crawling around five stories up with my tools dangling, but I like the idea.

So anyone willing to take a moment to tell me about their set up and what works for them - as well as where they believe one can find the finest tool belts with the largest selection so one can "build" a belt, I'd really appreciate it.

And, by the way - hats off to all the metal dogs out there! So few know what artists we are, and fewer still ever get to see it!
Old 06-15-2009, 08:36 PM