The New Home for the Sheet Metal Industry Forums
SheetMetalTalk

Go Back   Sheetmetal Talk > Sheet Metal Forums > Duct Construction and Uses

Duct Construction and Uses
Discussion in fabricating and use of products that move air including spiral pipe, duct board and typical sheet metal work.

Share This Forum!  

Old 09-27-2014, 07:40 AM

Default Duct Microwave to Outside

Microwave is installed over the stove on an exterior wall. It is set up to be exhausted through the top. I want to run the vent through the wall. I have a 3 1/4 X 10 90 degree that will attach to microwave vent. I also have a 3 1/4 X 10 wall cap. I bought these at a sheet metal supply house....not a big box and am now wondering if I have the correct gauge. I have a potential problem with a wall stud that lines up with one edge of the vent. I was planning on reshaping the 2 pieces so that they clear the stud. I would have sistered 2 X 4's to the stud so that I could notch the stud but I don't want to cut any more of the cabinet than I have to.
My questions are is there a code requirement for the metal gauge I am using and is reshaping the ducts a good idea and will cutting down their volume be a problem?
I didn't transition to a 6 inch round in order not to waste cabinet space.
Old 09-28-2014, 06:29 PM
Professional Member