Sheetmetal Talk

Sheetmetal Talk (http://www.sheetmetaltalk.com/index.php)
-   Metal Roofs (http://www.sheetmetaltalk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Sheet Metal Roofs (new forum) (http://www.sheetmetaltalk.com/showthread.php?t=1429)

Bud 06-27-2009 06:44 AM

Sheet Metal Roofs (new forum)

I realize there are or have been some discussions on sheet metal roofs throughout the forums but thought it might be nice for us to have a seperate forum for promoting roofing with sheet metal.

Maybe we can help some make that informed purchasing decision and convince them the benefits of sheet metal roofs.

Basher 06-27-2009 06:38 PM

What are the benefits of sheet metal roofs?

Bud 06-28-2009 06:57 AM

I'm no expert in this area, but from what I read and have seen in the past sheet metal roofs can last up to 40 years if installed properly. One fall back was concern of corrosion - but that too falls into having the right products for the job and proper installation.

http://www.facilitiesnet.com/roofing...-Roofing--9805

and let's not forget the "sheet metal workers" :) that might more then likely install the roofing. A lot of roofing companies have seperate sheet metal divisons.

locklin 06-28-2009 03:11 PM

Money in a Tinners pocket is 1 benefit!

cactassdupree 06-28-2009 04:17 PM

$$$

when I went to tade school there was a quote from Ben Franklin. I think it went: "He who hath a trade hath an estate." dupree :)

Bounder 06-29-2009 10:14 AM

The last sheet metal roof I fabricated was expected to last 150 to 200 years depending upon acid rain. The material is lead coated copper, looks like galvanized in color but fabricates like copper for the most part. It is installed on the rear section of the Indian King Tavern in Haddonfield NJ. The Tavern goes back before the Revolution and at one time was where the legislators for the colonies of NJ met when Trenton was overrun . It was also occupied by Hessian Troops for a while at least once maybe twice.